The ADA Foundation this week named the 2016 recipients of its Dr David Whiston Leadership Awards, which recognize promising dentists who have shown the potential for leadership in efforts to improve the oral health of the public. Nathan Suter, DDS, of Arnold, Mo, received the Dr David Whiston Leadership Award, and Dhwani Joshi, a dental student at A.T. Still University Missouri School of Dentistry and Oral Health, received the Henry Schein Cares Dr David Whiston Leadership Award.

Suter currently serves as the oral health director for COMTREA Comprehensive Health Center, a federally qualified health center in Arnold, Mo. In this role he has expanded oral healthcare access through the development of mobile dental services, increasing dental service locations, and the implementation of permanent school-based dental clinics in underserved areas. He has successfully written more than a dozen grants resulting in funding of more than $1.5 million. Suter earned his DDS degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Dentistry in 2013. He is a member of the Missouri Dental Association; serves as a Board member on the Missouri Coalition for Oral Health; and serves as a Committee member for the Oral Health Network of Missouri.

Joshi is a fourth-year student at A.T. Still University’s Missouri School of Dentistry and Oral Health (ATSU MOSDOH – DMD Class of 2017). She served as president of the school’s chapter of the American Student Dental Association (ASDA) from 2015 to 2016 and was awarded with the ASDA Award of Excellence. She was also awarded the ATSU MOSDOH Elsie Gaber Compassion & Integrity Award, presented annually to one student who has demonstrated compassion, integrity, and humanism in their interactions with one another and the community. Joshi’s volunteer efforts focus on community-based oral health promotion and disease prevention programs and activities.

The ADA Foundation created the Dr David Whiston Leadership Program in 2014 to honor Whiston, who has served the oral health profession through many important leadership roles including as ADA President (1997-1998) and president of the ADA Foundation Board of Directors (2010-2014).

The ADA Foundation provides two $5,000 awards each year—the Dr David Whiston Leadership Award and the Henry Schein Cares Dr David Whiston Leadership Award—designed to cover the costs associated with attending a leadership training program offered by the American Management Association.