Dentsply Sirona and AADOCR honored the winners of the 2022 Student Competition for Advancing Dental Research and its Application (SCADA) program.

Dentsply Sirona and the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) honored the recent winners of the 2022 Student Competition for Advancing Dental Research and its Application Awards (SCADA) program.

Dental students participated in the virtual competition and awards ceremony as part of this year’s AADOCR/CADR Annual Meeting and Exhibition.

Research projects were submitted by 4 student clinicians, and six award winners were selected.

The 63rd annual SCADA student research competition and awards program was held virtually and provided an opportunity for dental students to present their research to a distinguished panel of judges.

“Seeing the impressive lineup of winners in this year’s SCADA brings immense pride in today’s generation of dental students,” said Rainer Seemann, DMD, PhD, vice president of global clinical research with Dentsply Sirona. “The SCADA program and our collaboration with the AADOCR align with Dentsply Sirona’s commitment to innovation and education. Through this partnership, we aim to support the ingenuity of young professionals who are eager to embark on a career in academia or in their own practices.”

All US dental schools were invited to nominate a student to participate in the research competition in one of two categories – Clinical Science and Public Health Research and Basic and Translational Science. Each student submitted an abstract for review.

Upon acceptance of the abstract, participants submitted a complete portfolio for review to an international panel of judges, including an electronic copy of their research poster, a slide presentation, and a video of the oral presentation.

In addition, Dentsply Sirona sponsored 12 student research competitions in 12 countries, and seven of these student winners were honored during the awards program. The students represented Canada, Germany, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and Thailand.

In category 1, first place was awarded to Jack Harris, Harvard School of Dental Medicine. Second place was awarded to Noah Barnes, A.T. Still University – Missouri. Third place was awarded to Taylor Jackson, Meharry Medical College.

In category 2, first place was awarded to Sofia Park, University of Minnesota. Second place was awarded to Emma Warren, University of Connecticut. Third place was awarded to Erin Britt, Virginia Commonwealth University.

“These young researchers are the future of dentistry and oral health care,” said Jaques Eduardo Nör, DDS, MS, PhD, president of the AADOCR. “I am honored to shine a spotlight on their creativity and achievements.”

Photo courtesy of Dentsply Sirona