The ADA Forsyth Institute announced its new board of directors made up of former Forsyth Institute and ADASRI board members.

The ADA Forsyth Institute (AFI) announced its new board of directors. The new board brings together leaders from industry, technology and investment to help guide the strategic growth of this new organization.

The board announcement follows the debut of AFI in October 2023, when the Forsyth Institute joined with the American Dental Association (ADA)’s Science and Research Institute (ADASRI) to become one research organization aimed at driving innovation in dentistry and oral health on a global scale.

“Some of the field’s greatest innovators and leaders reside on our new board of directors,” said Wenyuan Shi, PhD, AFI chief executive officer. “Together with the unparalleled talent of our researchers, the AFI is now positioned to usher in a new era of research, development and innovation in dentistry and oral health.”

ADA executive director Raymond Cohlmia, DDS, will chair the new board. Three members of the former Forsyth Institute board – Elyse Cherry, Michael Greeley and Stephen E. Thorne IV – will remain part of AFI’s board. James M. Boyle, DDS, Teresa Dolan, DDS MPH, and J. Leslie Winston, DDS, PhD are former ADASRI board members who will also join the ADA Forsyth board.

Under the strategic guidance of the new board, AFI will aim to be a leader and incubator of innovation, focusing on biological research, clinical service, public health outreach, and technology. Key areas of investigative research include immunology and inflammation, dental and craniofacial development and bioengineering, and microbiology and the oral microbiome.

Photo 237187387 | Hand © Prostockstudio |