The American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) announced the election of its officers for the 2017-2018 term and installation of new members of the Board of Trustees. The election and installation took place at the association’s recent annual session in San Diego.

As Nahid Maleki, DDS, MS, of Washington, DC, takes on the AAO presidency for the 2017-2018 term, Brent E. Larson, DDS, MS, of Rochester, Minn, becomes the president elect. Larson serves as the director of the division of orthodontics and professor of orthodontics at the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry.

Gary O. Inman, DMD, was elected secretary-treasurer. Inman—who practices in Elizabethtown, Campbellsville, and Glasgow, Ky—is also the Southern Association of Orthodontists representative on the AAO Board of Trustees.

Michael G. Durbin, DDS, MS, of Des Plaines, Ill, was installed as the new trustee from the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists. In addition to Maleki, Larson, Inman, and Durbin, other members of the AAO Board of Trustees are:

  • Christopher A. Roberts, DDS, MS, Findlay, Ohio, Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists
  • J. Kendall Dillehay, DDS, MSD, Wichita, Kan, Southwestern Society of Orthodontists
  • Norman J. Nagel, DDS, MS, Simi Valley, Calif, Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists
  • Myron D. Guymon, DDS, MS, Logan, Utah, Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists
  • John D. Callahan, DDS, MS, Fayetteville, NY, Northeastern Society of Orthodontists
  • Steven M. Siegel, DMD, Glen Burnie, Md, Middle Atlantic Society of Orthodontists
  • Rolf G. Behrents, DDS, MS, PhD, St Louis, Mo, Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics
  • Michael J. Foy, DDS, MS, of Colorado Springs, Colo, Speaker of the AAO House of Delegates
  • DeWayne McCamish, DDS, MS, Chattanooga, Tenn, Interim Executive Director of the AAO