Summary: The American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) elected Timothy J. Tremont to its board and appointed Jae Hyun Park as president, Roberto Hernández Orsini as president-elect, and P. Emile Rossouw as secretary-treasurer.

Key Takeaways:

  • Timothy J. Tremont will serve an eight-year term and become ABO president in 2031-2032.
  • Jae Hyun Park will lead the ABO as president starting May 6, 2024, and chair several key committees.

Timothy J. Tremont Elected to ABO Board for 2024

The American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) has elected Timothy J. Tremont, DMD, MS, of Charleston, SC, to its board of directors. The election was held during the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Annual Session in New Orleans from May 3-6, 2024. Tremont, representing the Southern Association of Orthodontists (SAO), will serve an eight-year term, culminating as president in 2031-2032. He currently leads the orthodontics program at the Medical University of South Carolina. Tremont has an extensive background, having previously served on the faculty of the orthodontic residency program at West Virginia University School of Dentistry and maintained a private practice in orthodontics in White Oak, PA, from 1980 to 2017.

Jae Hyun Park Appointed 2024 ABO President

Jae Hyun Park, DMD, MSD, MS, PhD, of Phoenix, AZ, has been appointed as the ABO president, effective May 6, 2024. Park, who has represented the Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists (PCSO), will also chair the ABO Finance and Executive committees and serve as a liaison to several professional organizations, including the AAO, the College of Diplomates of the ABO, the Graduate Orthodontic Resident Program (GORP), the World Federation of Orthodontists (WFO), and the Society of Educators (SOE). Park has been the chair of the postgraduate orthodontic program at the Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health since 2008. Before moving to the United States, he practiced orthodontics in South Korea for a decade and served as a clinical assistant professor at Kyung Hee University.

Roberto Hernández Orsini Named ABO 2024 President-Elect

Roberto Hernández Orsini, DMD, MPH, MS, of Juana Díaz, Puerto Rico, has been named president-elect. During his tenure as an ABO director, Hernández Orsini has represented the Middle Atlantic Society of Orthodontists (MASO). As president-elect, he will serve on the Executive, Clinical, and Certification committees. Hernández Orsini is an associate professor in the graduate orthodontic program at the University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine. He is also an assistant adjunct professor in orthodontics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry and maintains a private practice in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico. He is board certified and an examiner for the ABO, and a member of the Edward H. Angle Society of Orthodontists, Midwest Component.

P. Emile Rossouw to Serve as Secretary-Treasurer

P. Emile Rossouw, BChD, MChD, PhD, of Rochester, NY, will serve as secretary-treasurer. The ABO directors are responsible for establishing policy concerning the board certification of specialists in orthodontics. Each ABO director represents one of the eight constituent organizations of the AAO and serves an eight-year term, which culminates in the position of president. During his tenure as an ABO director, Rossouw has represented the Northeastern Society of Orthodontists (NESO). As secretary-treasurer, Rossouw will chair the Written Committee and participate in the Executive and Policy Committees.