The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) is seeking nominations for three leadership awards, which will be presented during the OSAP Annual Infection Control Conference in San Diego, Calif, on June 2 to 4, 2016.

The Dr James J. Crawford Award is named in honor of one of the founding fathers of dental infection control. The annual award recognizes lifetime achievement in the field. Awardees have made major contributions in science, education, or public policy related to OSAP’s core competencies of infection prevention and control and patient and provider safety.

The Milton E. Schaefer Superior Service Award is given annually to OSAP members who have rendered superior service and contributions to the organization. According to a press release, the nominee should have an active and effective commitment to the growth and empowerment of OSAP in its ability to provide information and education for the dental community. This award recognizes either contributions over a period of time or singular accomplishments that have advanced OSAP’s mission to be the world’s leading advocate for the safe and infection-free delivery of oral healthcare.

The Emerging Leaders Award is designed to help develop and promote the next generation of stars in the field of dental infection prevention and safety by identifying outstanding new infection control advocates. Candidates can be clinicians, educators, consultants, students, or members of the dental trade.

Individuals can nominate themselves or another person. The deadline for nominations is April 13, 2016. Winners will be selected by the OSAP Awards Committee and the OSAP Board of Directors. This year’s committee consists of Jessica Wilson, Hu-Friedy (committee chair); William Neumann, MDSI/First Impressions; Timothy Dowd, DDS; Ralph Johnson, VAMC; and Tracy Glenn, Kerr/Kavo Group.

Additional information is available at