Nicholas_Barone_ABOThe American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) announced its officers for 2019-2020. Nicholas D. Barone, DDS, MS (pictured), of Lincoln, RI, will serve as president, while Valmy V. Kulbersh, DDS, MS, of Bloomfield Hills, Mich, will serve as president-elect; David G. Sabott, DDS, MS, of Erie, Colo, as secretary/treasurer; and Larry P. Tadlock, DDS, MS, of Colleyville, Tex, as immediate past president.

Each ABO director represents one of the eight constituent organizations of the AAO and serves an 8-year term, which culminates in the position of the president. The ABO directors are responsible for establishing policy with regard to the board certification of specialists in orthodontics.

Barone has represented the Northeastern Society of Orthodontists during his tenure, while Kulbersh has represented the Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists, Sabott the Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists, and Tadlock the Southwestern Society of Orthodontists.

As ABO president, Barone also serves as chair of the ABO Finance Committee, and as the ABO liaison to numerous professional organizations, including the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO), the College of Diplomates of the ABO, the Graduate Orthodontic Resident Program (GORP), the World Federation of Orthodontists (WFO), and the Society of Educators (SOE).

Barone practices with his son, Nicholas P. Barone, DMD, in North Providence and Smithfield, RI.

Active in numerous dental and orthodontic organizations, Barone is a past president of the AAO Foundation, NESO, the Rhode Island Dental Association, the Rhode Island Association of Orthodontists, and the Providence District Dental Society. Barone served on the Rhode Island Senate Oral Health Commission from 2000 to 2004. He is also a member of the Angle East, a component of the Edward H. Angle Society of Orthodontists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. He is a fellow of the International College of Dentists and has been board certified since 1990.

Meanwhile, Stephen K. McCullough, DDS, MS, of Yukon, Okla, was installed as an ABO director. McCullough, who represents the Southwestern Society of Orthodontists, will become president of the ABO in the 2026-2027 year.