The ABO installed its board leadership for the 2023-2023 term, naming Timothy Trulove, DMD, MS, as president of the group.

The American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) installed Timothy S. Trulove, DMD, MS, of Montgomery, Ala, as president for the year beginning April 23, 2023 and named several other key leadership appointments.

The other 2023-2024 officers of the ABO are Jae Hyun Park, DMD, MSD, MS, PhD, of Phoenix, Ariz, president-elect; Roberto Hernández Orsini, DMD, MPH, MS, of Juana Díaz, Puerto Rico, secretary-treasurer; and Patrick F. Foley, DDS, MSD, of Mundelein, Ill, immediate past president.

The ABO directors are responsible for establishing policy concerning the board certification of specialists in orthodontics. Each ABO director represents one of the eight constituent organizations of the AAO and serves an eight-year term, culminating in the position of president.

As an ABO director, Trulove has represented the Southern Association of Orthodontists (SAO). As ABO president, he also serves as chair of the ABO Finance and Executive committees and as the ABO liaison to numerous professional organizations, including the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO), the College of Diplomates of the ABO, the Graduate Orthodontic Resident Program (GORP), the World Federation of Orthodontists (WFO) and the Society of Educators (SOE).

Trulove has been in private practice in Montgomery since 1989. In addition, he is an adjunct professor of orthodontics at the University of Alabama School of Dentistry in Birmingham, Ala.

Board-certified by the ABO since 1996, he is a member of the College of Diplomates of the ABO.

Jae Hyun Park, DMD, is now the president-elect for the 2023-2024 term. During his tenure as an ABO director, Park has represented the Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists (PCSO). As president-elect, Park is a member of the executive, written, and policy committees.

He is a professor and chair of the postgraduate orthodontic program at the Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health in Mesa, Ariz, a position he has held since 2008. Before coming to the United States, he practiced orthodontics in South Korea for 10 years and was a clinical assistant professor at Kyung Hee University.

Hernández Orsini of Juana Díaz, Puerto Rico, will serve as secretary/treasurer for the year.

As an ABO director, Hernández Orsini has represented the Middle Atlantic Society of Orthodontists (MASO). As secretary/treasurer, he is chair of the Clinical Committee and a member of the Executive and Certification Committees.

Hernández Orsini is an associate professor in the graduate orthodontic program at the University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine. He is also an assistant adjunct professor in orthodontics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry and maintains a private practice in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico.

Meenakshi Vishwanath, BDS, MDS, MS, of Lincoln, Neb, has been elected to the board of directors of the ABO. She represents the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) and will become president of the ABO in the 2030-2031 year.

Vishwanath is currently an assistant professor at the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry, with an anticipated promotion to associate professor with tenure in July 2023. She is also the program director of the graduate orthodontic program. She joined the university in 2017 and became program director in 2021.

Photo: Timothy Trulove, DMD, MS, ABO president. Courtesy of the ABO