The MSO met virtually over the weekend for its annual meeting, where it installed Dr Scott Arbit as president, Dr Mark Dake as president-elect, and Dr Nellie Kim-Weroha as secretary-treasurer. 

The Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) installed its 2020-2021 officers at its virtual meeting this weekend. The following new officers will serve MSO members for the next year: Dr Scott Arbit of Mequon, Wis, as president; Dr Mark Dake of West Plains, Mo, as president-elect; and Dr Nellie Kim-Weroha of Rochester, Minn, as secretary-treasurer. Dr Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Ill continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board. 

Drs Melissa Bernhardt of West Des Moines, Iowa, and Estee Wang of Maplewood, Minn, join the MSO Board as new directors. Also continuing to serve their respective component organization on the MSO Board as directors are Drs Spencer Pope of Flossmoor, Ill; Fabio Pinheiro of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Michael LaFerla of Joplin, Mo; Emily Willett of Lincoln, Neb; Daniel Keith of Bismarck, ND; Keri Barrow of Sioux Falls, SD; and Mike Maslowski of Oshkosh, Wis. 

Dr Alison Fallgatter of Jamestown, ND, completed her term as president during the October 2 to 3, 2020 Virtual MSO-PCSO-RMSO-SWSO Annual Session. 

Dr Ross Crist Recognized Posthumously

In July, the MSO presented the 2020 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award to the family of Dr Ross Crist when the MSO Annual Session was moved from Chicago to a virtual format. Crist passed away July 16, 2020 after a battle with cancer and was recognized posthumously at the October 2, 2020 MSO Annual Member Business Meeting. Crist served as 2012-2013 MSO President, MSO delegation chair to the AAO House, and MSO’s representative to the AAO Foundation, and on numerous AAO committees and task forces. He held teaching responsibilities at the University of Nebraska and Creighton University and was a leader in a variety of local organizations outside dentistry. This award was created in honor of Dr Earl E. Shepard to recognize orthodontists for outstanding service to orthodontics and their community. 

Milwaukee in 2021

MSO represents more than 1,460 members in Illinois, Iowa, Manitoba, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. The Midwestern Society of Orthodontists is an AAO constituent that supports the mission of the AAO by providing resources, communication and leadership, while serving as a voice for its component societies and individual members. 

MSO’s 2021 Annual Session is scheduled for October 1 to 2 in Milwaukee, Wis.