Kathleen T. O’Loughlin, DMD, MPH, the current ADA executive director is among the board additions, which also include Carol Gomez Summerhays, DDS, and Martha Somerman, DDS, PhD. 

The dental laser company BIOLASE announced the appointment of three new members to its Board of Directors. Kathleen T. O’Loughlin, DMD, MPH, Carol Gomez Summerhays, DDS, and Martha Somerman, DDS, PhD, join the board effective immediately. 

O’Loughlin currently serves as executive director of the American Dental Association (ADA), but, according to a press release from BIOLASE, is retiring from the ADA by the end of 2021. Summerhays is currently chair of the Board of Councilors of the University of Southern California Ostrow School of Dentistry and a former president of the ADA and president of the California Dental Association. Somerman is the chief field editor of Frontiers in Dental Medicine and former director and senior advisor of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofaicial Research, National Institutes of Health. 

“As we embark on an aggressive growth strategy, I am pleased to welcome the new Board members as their extensive experience in dental practice, translational and clinical research, and dental education will be extremely helpful as we continue to execute on the BIOLASE business plan,” commented Jonathan T. Lord, MD, chairman of the board of BIOLASE. “We are delighted to have each of these women join our board and look forward to their contributions as we continue to execute on our plan for long-term growth.”

Stepping down from the Board are Dr Michael DiTolla and Garrett Sato (retirement). The appointments increase the size of the BIOLASE Board to nine members.