The American Association of Dental Boards has named a new president and a new secretary to its board of directors. 

James A. Sparks, DDS of Oklahoma, has been named president of the American Association of Dental Boards Board of Directors.

Sparks is a dentist in private practice in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. He is a graduate of Oklahoma University College of Dentistry, where he is a Clinical Associate Professor in Oral Diagnosis and Radiology. 

He was elected to six terms on the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry and served as president for 8 years. He has served on the AADB Board of Directors for 5 years.

The newest addition to the AADB Board of Directors is Frank Maggio, DDS, appointed secretary of the American Association of Dental Boards’ Board of Directors.

Maggio served in the United States Army, obtaining a California dental license during his tenure. In 1975, he established a periodontics and implantology practice in Elgin, Illinois.

Maggio is active with many dental organizations, including the American Dental Association, American Dental Education Association, American Academy of Periodontology, the National Foundation of Dentistry for the Handicapped-Dental Lifeline Network, Dental Assisting National Board, and the American Association of Dental Examiners.

Membership in AADB includes boards of dentistry, advanced education boards, present and past members of those boards, board administrators, board attorneys, educators, practitioners, and other oral health stakeholders.

Photo of James Sparks, DDS, courtesy of AADB