The Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) elected new officers during its Annual Business Meeting during the 2009 MSO Annual Session held October 16 to 17 at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.

The following 2009-2010 MSO officers were installed at the MSO Annual Business Meeting on October 17: John S. Kanyusik (pictured) of Mankato, Minn, as president; Jacqueline M. Miller of Washington, Mo, as president-elect;  Babette Cohen of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, as vice president; and Ross L. Crist of Sioux Falls, SD, as secretary-treasurer.

Brent E. Larson of Minneapolis was recognized for his service to the MSO as the 2008–2009 president. He will continue to serve as a member of the MSO board as immediate past president, in addition to continuing to serve as the MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists Board.

Ryan K. VanLaecken of Watertown, SD, joined the MSO board as a new director.

MSO’s 2009 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented at the MSO Annual Business Meeting to Michael A. Fuchs of Huron, SD.
The MSO represents more than 1,335 members in Illinois, Iowa, Manitoba, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.