The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP is seeking nominations for three leadership awards, which will be presented during the OSAP Annual Infection Control Symposium in Baltimore, Md, held from May 28 to 30, 2015.

The Crawford Award for lifetime achievement in the field of dental infection control, the Schaefer Award for superior service and contributions to OSAP, and the Emerging Leaders Award for new infection-control ambassadors will be presented. Individuals can nominate themselves or another person. The deadline for nominations is Friday, April 24.

The Dr James J. Crawford Award is named in honor of one of the founding fathers of dental infection control, and it recognizes lifetime achievement in the field. Awardees have made major contributions in science, education, or public policy related to OSAP’s core competencies of infection prevention and control and patient and provider safety.

The Milton E. Schaefer Superior Service Award is given annually to OSAP members who have rendered superior service and contributions to the organization. The nominee should have an active and effective commitment to the growth and empowerment of OSAP in its ability to provide information and education for the dental community. This award recognizes either contributions over a period of time or singular accomplishments that have advanced OSAP’s mission to be the world’s leading advocate for the safe and infection-free delivery of oral healthcare.

This is the first year for the Emerging Leaders Award, which aims to help develop and promote the next generation of stars in the field of dental infection prevention and safety by identifying outstanding, new, infection-control advocates. Candidates can be clinicians, educators, consultants, students, or members of the dental trade.

After the April 24 nominations deadline, the winners will be selected by the OSAP Awards Committee and the OSAP Board of Directors. This year’s committee consists of Jessica Wilson, committee chair for Hu-Friedy; William S. Neumann of MDSI/First Impressions magazine; Timothy Dowd, DDS, Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center; and Tracy Glenn from the Kavo Kerr Group.

Additional information is available on the company website.