While several dental-related products and materials won’t be subject to 25% tariffs Washington will impose on imports from China, a number of products remain on the list, including imaging, optical, and anesthetic devices, according to a report from DrBicuspid.com.

The Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) released the latest list on June 15, 2018. The initial list, released in April, includes over 1,300 products and materials. The latest list cut the number of products and materials subject to 25% import tariffs to 818.

The latest list includes eight dental-related products and materials, such as ultrasonic scanning electrodiagnostic apparatus; magnetic resonance imaging electrodiagnostic apparatus; scintigraphic electrodiagnostic apparatus; ultraviolet or infrared ray apparatus and parts and accessories; optical instruments and appliances and parts and accessories; anesthetic instruments and appliances and related parts and accessories; apparatus based on the use of x-rays for dental uses (other than computed tomography apparatus); and apparatus based on the use of alpha, beta, or gamma radiations.

The Dental Trade Alliance (DTA), an association of companies that provide dental equipment, supplies, materials, and services to dentists and other oral care professionals, released the following statement: DTA is concerned about the impact of U.S. tariffs on foreign goods and materials and the potential impact on American goods if other countries implement tariffs to counter those proposed by the President. While much of the discussion on tariffs is conjecture at this point, we recognize the potential adverse effect on DTA members’ businesses internationally and domestically. Should tariffs be placed on dental equipment and supplies, increased costs for patients could negatively impact access to care. DTA is actively monitoring proposals for tariffs and communicating with leaders on Capitol Hill and in the administration about the potential impact of these tariffs.

According to USTR, the tariffs will go into effect on July 6, 2018.